Presidency releases names of freed Chibok girls

Chibok girls
Chibok girls

The Federal Government has released the names of 21 Chibok schoolgirls released by Boko Haram on Thursday.

Presidential spokesperson, Garba Shehu, released the names late Thursday after the girls met with Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

The release of the 21 Chibok school girls was the outcome of negotiations between the government and the sect, which was brokered by the International Red Cross and the Swiss Government.

A military helicopter picked up the girls from Banki area of Borno State where the terrorists dropped them off.

The girls were abducted by the Islamists militants on April 14, 2014.

Names of released girls:

  1. Mary Usman Bulama
  2. Jummai John
  3. Blessing Abana
  4. Lugwa Sanda
  5. Comfort Habila
  6. Maryam Basheer
  7. Comfort Amos
  8. Glory Mainta
  9. Saratu Emannuel
  10. Deborah Ja’afaru
  11. Rahab Ibrahim
  12. Helen Musa
  13. Maryamu Lawan
  14. Rebecca Ibrahim
  15. Asabe Goni
  16. Deborah Andrawus
  17. Agnes Gapani
  18. Saratu Markus
  19. Glory Dama
  20. Pindah Nuhu
  21. Rebecca Mallam