Understanding Hindu Calendar and Panchangam in Easy Way!

For many Hindus around the world, understanding Hindu Calendar and Panchangam is an important part of their religious practice. Hinduism has been around for thousands of years and it’s believed to be one of the oldest organized religions in the world. Hinduism celebrates festivals, holidays, and other special events throughout the year based on various aspects of astronomy and astrology. So, The Hindu Calendar and Panchangam are two essential components that help Hindus keep track of these events. In this blog post, we’ll discuss what each of these components is and how you can use them to stay up-to-date with your religious celebrations.

What is the Hindu calendar?

The Hindu calendar is a set of lunisolar calendars primarily used in Hinduism and India. In the traditional Hindu calendar, there are 12 lunar months (or 13 in some years). The first day of each lunar month is called the new moon day (amāvāsyā). Each month has either 29 or 30 days. A leap year has 13 months, with the extra month being inserted after February.

Therefore, most Hindus use the modern Gregorian calendar for civil purposes; however, some festivals are based on the older lunisolar Hindu calendar. For example, Diwali, which is one of the most popular Hindu festivals, falls on the 15th day of Kartika (October/November) in the lunisolar calendar.

The Hindu calendar has several different types of years:

  • Saka Year: Used in parts of India. Begins on Chaitra 1 (March 22 or 23).
  • Vikram Samvat: Used in Nepal and India. Begins on Vaishakha 1 (April 14 or 15).
  • Shaka Year: Used in South India. Begins on Chaitra 1 (March 22 or 23).

What is a Panchangam?

A Panchangam is a Hindu calendar that helps people determine the most auspicious time to hold important events. The calendar takes into account the five elements of Indian cosmology: fire, earth, water, air, and space. So, These elements are represented by the five planets in Hindu astrology: Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, and Jupiter. Each planet has a different effect on human affairs, so the Panchang can be used to find the best time for everything from starting a business to getting married.

How to use a Panchangam?

A Panchangam is a Hindu calendar that helps Hindus determine the most auspicious time to perform religious and social activities. The word “Panchangam” comes from the Sanskrit words “pancha” meaning “five” and “anga” meaning “limbs or parts”. These five parts are:

  • -Tithi: The lunar day
  • -Vara: The day of the week
  • -Nakshatra: The constellations
  • -Yoga: The planetary combination
  • -Karana: The half-lunar day

To use a Panchangam, first find the current Tithi, Vara, Nakshatra, Yoga, and Karana. Then consult the Panchangam to see what activities are favorable for that combination.

What are the benefits of using a Panchangam?

Panchangam is a Hindu calendar and almanac, which follows the sidereal year and lists the positions of the Sun, Moon, planets, Nakshatras, etc. So, It is also used in India for calculating auspicious timings for various events and undertakings.

Panchangam helps one know the right time to start any new venture, travel, begin a fast or any other religious activity. Hence, The calculation of auspicious timings (Muhurtha) is an important aspect of Hinduism. Panchangam also lists festivals and holidays.

How to make your own Panchangam?

In order to make your own Panchangam, you will need a few things. First, you will need a calendar that has the twelve months of the year, as well as the days of the week and the festivals listed on it. Second, you will need a list of the nakshatras, which are the constellations that are used to determine the dates of festivals and other important events. Third, you will need a list of the planets and their movements. Fourth, you will need a list of the Yogas and their effects. Finally, you will need a list of the Karanas, which are the divisions of time that are used to calculate auspicious times for various activities.


Therefore, Understanding the Hindu calendar and Today Panchangam can be a daunting task, but with this article, we hope to have given you some insight into how these concepts work. Knowing how to read the panchangam will help you better understand important dates in your life such as festivals and religious observances so that you can plan accordingly. Being aware of these things is not only an essential part of being culturally conscious but also helps make sure that any events happening in your life run more smoothly.

Therefore, An auspicious time for holding an event can be determined by a Panchang, which is a Hindu calendar. As per Indian cosmology, the five elements of fire, earth, water, air, and space are all considered in the calendar. As a result, the five planets of Hindu astrology represent these elements: the Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, and Jupiter. It is possible to use the Panchangam to determine the best time for everything from starting a business to getting married because each planet has a different effect on human affairs.

Read More: Tips to Consider Before Buying a pair of artificial jewellery Bangles Online

Author Bio

My name is Emma Perez, and I have a keen interest in the field of writing. I have written a couple of articles on various gemstones, fashion and would love to express my opinion on more such stones. Hope it has maximized your knowledge of gemstone jewelry and satisfied your quest to buy Peridot Jewelry from an authentic place. We believe in quality and offer the same in our information and products.

Read More Astrology Blogs Here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *